Help us celebrate 100 years of ANZAC

Federal Member for Blaxland, Jason Clare MP, today convened the first meeting of the ANZAC Centenary Local Grants Committee.


The Committee will assist the Department of Veterans Affairs in allocating $100,000 of local funding to eligible community groups with ideas on how to commemorate the ANZAC Centenary.

Next year, Australia will commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the First World War.

“As part of the commemorations our community will receive $100,000 from the Federal Government to help honour the service and sacrifice of our service men and women,” Mr Clare said.

“These grants present an opportunity for us to come together to remember the important events of 1915.

The Advisory committee is made up of:

  • Mr Dick Payten OAM – 7th Australian Division AIF Association
  • Mr Alan Rawlinson – Bankstown Legacy Division
  • Mr James Wrigley – Bankstown RSL Sub-Branch
  • Mr Jihad Dib – Local School Principal / Mateship Trek
  • Miss Amna Karra Hassan – AFP Liaison Officer / Mateship Trek
  • Mr Ahmet Keskin – Affinity Intercultural Foundation
  • Mr Kevin Mahony – Bass Hill RSL Sub-Branch

The Advisory Committee will be accepting applications for assessment until February 2014.

Jason is calling on local RSLs, schools and community groups to make a contribution to the way our local community commemorates the ANZAC Centenary.

“Call my office or send me an email with your submission.

Examples of eligible activities under the Program include:

  • Public commemorative events;
  • new First World War memorials or honour boards;
  • the restoration of existing First World War memorials or honour boards;
  • the preservation, interpretation and display of First World War wartime and military memorabilia and artefacts; and
  • School projects commemorating ANZAC

Application forms for this program can be found at

Media contact: Jamie Wassef Phone: 9790 2466