blaxland map

Where is Blaxland?

The Federal electorate of Blaxland runs from the M4 to M5 between Woodville Road and Stacey Street, covering 61 square kilometres and taking in the Canterbury-Bankstown and Cumberland local government areas in Sydney’s southwest.

It includes the suburbs of Berala, Chester Hill, Condell Park, Georges Hall, Milperra, Potts Hill, South Granville, Villawood, Yagoona as well as parts of Auburn, Bankstown, Guildford, Lidcombe, Padstow and Revesby.

About Blaxland

Approximately 189,000 people live in Blaxland.

It is one of the most culturally diverse electorates in Australia, with 57.1% of the population born overseas.

Apart from English, the main languages spoken in the home are Arabic (20%) and Vietnamese (10%).

A variety of religions are also represented with 31.7% identifying as Islamic, 31.2% of residents identifying as Christian, 15.1% as No Religion, 7.8% identify as Buddhist, and 4% as Hindu.

Since Blaxland was proclaimed in 1949, it has been continuously represented in Federal Parliament by a member of the Australian Labor Party.

Who has represented Blaxland?

Blaxland was once represented by former Prime Minister Paul Keating. He was first elected the Member for Blaxland in 1969, at the age of 25. He was the Prime Minister of Australia from 20 December 1991 to 11 March 1996.

MPs who have represented Blaxland:

The electorate is named after pioneer farmer and explorer, Gregory Blaxland (1778-1853). In 1813, he led the first known European expedition across the Blue Mountains, along with William Lawson and William Charles Wentworth.